Dear Financial Voice Reader,

As I mentioned last week, I recently gave a talk at the Women Empowered event in London. So I am writing this mini-series for the female entrepreneur. This is the finale in the series.

Financials

" I started The Body Shop in 1976 simply to create a livelihood for myself and my two daughters, while my husband, Gordon, was trekking across the Americas. I had no training or experience and my only business acumen was Gordon’s advice to take sales of £300 a week. Nobody talks about entrepreneurship as survival, but that’s exactly what it is and what nurtures creative thinking. Running that first shop taught me business is not financial science; it’s about trading: buying and selling." – Anita Roddick

"You got a dream, you gotta protect it. People can’t do something themselves, they want to tell you that you can’t do it. You want something? Go get it. Period." The Pursuit of Happyness, 2006

Issue: Women tended to score lower on hard skills like financial planning than softer skills like relationship building

Solution: Any weakness should not be seen as an obstacle but an opportunity to learn new skills. There are resources which teach all this and show best examples. Copying those is a good start. For instance I have uploaded some on my blog of business plans and financial plans so you can see what good ones should look like. www.thedealdaddy.me

"If you are successful, it is because somewhere, sometime, someone gave you a life or an idea that started you in the right direction. Remember also that you are indebted to life until you help some less fortunate person, just as you were helped." (Valedictory Speech, Ursuline Academy, 1982.) Belinda Gates

Alpesh Patel, author, ‘Our Turn’. For the first 10 women to ‘like’ Women Empowered on Facebook and who attended my talk at Women Empowered event – I’ll send you a free signed copy of my book Our Turn for Women Entrepreneurs. Just private message a mailing address to Reena Ranger at Women Empowered on